Language Tanslation : Español | Français | Deutsch | Italiano | Português

Major Holidays in Delhi

Delhi is the capital of Union of India and therefore abides by rules prescribed by the federal authority. The city remains closed completely on National holidays such as: -
  • Independence Day - 15th August
  • Republic Day - 26th January
  • Gandhi Jayanti (Birthday of 'Father of the Nation') - 2nd October
City is usually silent on Sundays with most of the government agencies closed. Diwali, Holi and Eid are the three major festivals in India, which occurs in the month of October and March respectively. Some other major holidays are for Guru Nanak Birthday, Eid-ul-Juha popularly called Rakhi, Bakrid, Dussehra, Christmas and Baisakhi.

Apart from these there are various restricted holidays too that the government of Delhi grants.